Celebs & Events

Gotham Awards 2016: The Complete Winners List

Gotham Awards 2016: The Complete Winners List

hollywoodreporter.com: The 2016 Gotham Independent Film Awards were handed out in Manhattan.

Keegan-Michael Key hosted the ceremony that's seen as the start of Oscar season.

Kenneth Lonergan's Casey Affleck-starrer Manchester by the Sea went into the night with a leading four nominations, including one for best feature, where it faced off against Certain Women, Everybody Wants Some, Moonlight and Paterson. Moonlight's ensemble cast also received a special Gotham jury award and is up for best screenplay, giving the A24 film three nominations. Paterson also received three nominations with the following movies receiving two nominations each: Certain Women, The Fits, Hell or High Water, Love & Friendship, Loving and The Witch. Those totals don't include the audience award, voted on by IFP members from the films nominated for best feature, best documentary and breakthrough director.

For the second year in a row the Gotham Awards also handed out two awards for breakthrough TV and web series. Breakthrough TV series nominees include Louis C.K.'s self-distributed Horace and Pete, The CW's Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Starz's The Girlfriend Experience and Netflix's Master of None and Marvel's Jessica Jones.

In addition to the competitive awards, previously announced tributes also were given to actors Amy Adams and Ethan Hawke, director Oliver Stone and industry tribute recipient, producer and New Regency founder and chairman Arnon Milchan. The New York City Mayor's Office of Media and Entertainment received a special appreciation award, celebrating the 50th anniversary of New York City's Office of Film, Theatre and Broadcasting. NYC film commissioner Julie Menin and deputy mayor Alicia Glen accepted the honor and then present two "Made in NY" awards to Aziz Ansari (Master of None) and Judith Light (Transparent).

Best Feature – Moonlight
Best Actor - Casey Affleck in Manchester by the Sea
Best Actress - Isabelle Huppert in Elle

Audience Award
Determined via online voting by IFP members, with nominees consisting of the 15 films up for best feature, best doc and the Bingham Ray breakthrough director award.

Best Feature - Moonlight
Best Documentary - O.J.: Made in America
Best Screenplay - Moonlight, Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney
Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award - Trey Edward Shults for Krisha
Breakthrough Actor - Anya Taylor-Joy in The Witch
Breakthrough Series – Longform - Crazy Ex-Girlfriend
Breakthrough Series – Shortform - Her Story